You are currently on – AS Merko Ehitus page about the group.

Union of Estonian Architects introduces annual prize awarded to architect


For the first time, the Union of Estonian Architects has announced competition for architect of the year. The aim is to highlight and recognize one outstanding work of architecture and the architect responsible for it. The award is supported by AS Merko Ehitus. The company was signed to a five-year cooperation agreement today. The prize is 5000 euros.

“The Architect of the Year prize is our way of giving our members even more motivation to develop innovative architectural solutions,” said president of the Union of Architects, Indrek Allmann. “Members of the Union of Architects can submit entries in the competition, and they will be judged by an international jury. We want to ensure that the winning work will not just be extraordinary in the Estonian cultural context but would also strike international audiences as distinctive and innovative. This year, a highly regarded Finnish architect, professor Rainer Mahlamäki, will make the selection.”

“As the leading Baltic construction firm and real estate developer, we work closely with architects each and every day toward a common goal – designing and building functional, long-lasting works of architecture.  It’s an honour for us to support the development of the field in cooperation with the Union of Estonian Architects and make our contribution to recognizing the work of architects,” said member of the management board of AS Merko Ehitus, Tõnu Toomik.

The prize is awarded every year for works of architecture built and delivered during the period from January of the preceding year to 30 April of the current year. This year’s competition is open for submissions until 30 June. More information about the competition conditions:

The winner of the Architect of the Year 2015 award will be announced at a public architecture award gala event on 4 December in the large hall of the Arhitektuurikatel.